Created in 2014, the ABB FIA Formula E Championship is the world’s only all-electric single-seater series.


Taking place near cultural and historical landmarks in some of the world’s most beautiful cities, such as London, Paris, Rome and New York, Formula E allows more accessibility to the public than other conventional series.

11 teams and 22 drivers make up the grid, including some of the biggest automotive brands. 


Formula E gives car manufacturers such as Nissan South Africa the opportunity to showcase their electric energy innovations in a racing environment, designing cars to the technical specification set out by the FIA.

The series revolves around three principles:  


Energy, Environment and Entertainment, combining engineering, technology, sport, science, design, music and entertainment to drive towards an electric future.


The track will wind its way through Cape Town's Green Point and Waterfront districts, with the flowing lines of this new street circuit expected to be one of the fastest on the Season 9 calendar and a true test for the all-new 350kW Gen3 machine.

The 2.8km, 12-turn track will see the grid lined up at the start-line at the Green Point precinct’s Vlei Road, where the field of world-class drivers will race with Signal Hill as a backdrop.

Then it’s a left turn into Helen Suzman Boulevard; and another left into Granger Bay Boulevard, presenting the racers with two sharp chicanes. Drivers will then head along the oceanfront on Mouille Point’s Beach Road; before taking a sharp left-hander into Fritz Sonnenberg Road and; a final right to reach the finish line.



Formula E uses a unique single-day format to cause minimal disruption to the city it is racing in.


Starting with 2 30-minute free practice sessions, the drivers are then split into 2 groups for the first part of Qualifying. 


The top 4 from each group then progress into a series of duels to battle for pole position.

The race lasts 45 minutes +1 lap, in which drivers must use the exclusive Attack Mode feature whereby an extra 30kW power boost is rewarded for driving through an off-line activation zone (the number of activations and length of the boost is determined by the FIA prior to each event). 


5 drivers can also benefit from FanBoost, an extra burst of power voted for by the fans. A bonus point is available for the driver who sets the fastest lap.



As with the Formula E, Nissan is taking meaningful steps towards electrification with e-Power. e-POWER is a 100% electric motor-driven system from Nissan that gives you the same high-performance driving experience as an all-electric car.